BaileyMex Posted June 8, 2012 Report Posted June 8, 2012 Computer expert help Hi all, Just a quick question for all the IT guru's out there On my laptop I have the main C drive and a recovery drive??? When clicking on the recovery drive I get image two and then when clicking on that I get the third image Question is it looks like its getting full, whats the crack with this recovery drive??
Posse Posted June 8, 2012 Report Posted June 8, 2012 I no how to get that sorted colin get out and buy a apple mac you will never have that shite Hope that helps
BaileyMex Posted June 8, 2012 Author Report Posted June 8, 2012 I'm surprised you even know what I'm talking about at your age mate, now go and reboot your abacus
GJUK Posted June 8, 2012 Report Posted June 8, 2012 you get a Recovery 'drive' on new computers, used to simply recover a computer back to 'off the shelf' state should you want to. It ensures you can re-image your machine without having to bother the people that made it. You may also have some recovery dvd's which will do the same/similar thing. Depending on how it's set up, it might be 'remembering' your recent states so that it can recover if you browse too much porn and your laptop kills itself.
Posse Posted June 8, 2012 Report Posted June 8, 2012 if you browse too much porn and your laptop kills itself. Nail on the head
BaileyMex Posted June 8, 2012 Author Report Posted June 8, 2012 Busted How can I tell if it is 'remembering' too much rather than just the system files etc? there doesn't seem to be a way into it
GJUK Posted June 14, 2012 Report Posted June 14, 2012 Busted How can I tell if it is 'remembering' too much rather than just the system files etc? there doesn't seem to be a way into it It will be mostly automatic. Any new 'restore data' will overwrite the older dada. I would only worry if you start getting memory low errors or similar. I'm sure you'll be fine. J
jayremedy Posted June 15, 2012 Report Posted June 15, 2012 The recovery drive will be that full, and will stay like that. It holds the files to take your computer back to a "factory" state. If your computer becomes unusable due to viruses or just damaged files or file system. You hit F8 when you switch it on, choose "repair my computer" if you then choose "full (destructive) recovery" it accesses this recovery partition to set up your computer as new, normally with an option to back up files beforehand. In other words just ignore it
BaileyMex Posted June 17, 2012 Author Report Posted June 17, 2012 What they said Col , lol Steve.......
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now