Ex Forces Members

Dagenham Darren

I was reading the post Jo did on Retards Club about traffic to the forum being lower and in truth I have spent a long time on here but have not seen to many places I felt like I could jump in and ad anything to a topic so thought I would start one myself that is more about getting to know other members.

I am a former soldier with the 1st Battalion The Royal Anglian Regiment "The Vikings" served 7 years all over the world from N.Ireland to Afghanistan, was a L/CPL, served as a rifleman and then in D company reconnaissance, done everything from driving scimitar and sabres, wolfs, to ops and well, I wont go on to much.....yet lol.

Any other ex or serving forces? 

• Like 2

I did 6 years in the RAF, from 72 to 78, so a long time ago. Spent 2 and half years in Cyprus, that was great, hitching rides on all sorts of aircraft to and from England and also jollies with the Air Sea Rescue guys all over Cyprus. Then I returned to England and spent my last 18 months at RAF Cottesmore in Rutland, what a skive that was as the station was non-operational so we just dossed about keeping the radio equipment working. Had my second Angila while I was here and it turned out to be a right beast of a car with full bubble arches and a 1500gt engine in Monaco Red.

• Like 2

Thanks for starting this thread Darren following my post on FB. I'm not ex-services but I have lived in Bordon (Hampshire) for the past 25+ years and grew up near Bisley (where the national rifle range is) prior to that. My dad was a Grenadier and his father before him and he was killed in the line of duty in WWII and his grave is in Tunisia so I guess I'm familiar with the services

• Like 2

Irishtorag  lol my mother says the same, she and that part of my family are from Limerick! Force of habit I guess, but yes, Derry it is. I joint the Army for a change of direction in my life at that time as things were not going to well, glad I did so, made me the guy I am today.