Which modern engine fits best?

Wildcat

I have a 2.0 cortina based e type (jpr wildcat) I love it, however, it overheats within two miles of driving.  I am considering fitting the most modern engine I can.  Anyone know the most modern unit which would fit straight in without too much bother.  I used to be a mechanic 25 years ago and still have access to workshop and tools etc.

Any advice is much appreciated.

If it's overheating that quickly it's more likely to be a problem with the cooling system than specifically the engine. Is it pinto powered?

if you are looking for a Ford engine then the zetec is a popular cheap choice.....but it won't cure your overheating problem if the cause isn't engine related. 

27 minutes ago, Vista said:

If it's overheating that quickly it's more likely to be a problem with the cooling system than specifically the engine. Is it pinto powered?

if you are looking for a Ford engine then the zetec is a popular cheap choice.....but it won't cure your overheating problem if the cause isn't engine related. 

But one advantage of using a Zetec is it is a lean burn, hotter running engine so doesn't mind (as much) a reduced cooling system. I'm guessing with an E type the rad. size is much compromised so may need double thickness cores so whereas a Pinto is happiest at 72-78 deg C, the Zetec will still be good at around 90 deg C with fan switching at 95 odd degrees.

V6 in a E type - sacrilege! For a purest, even the V12 Jag engine doesn't count LOL!